The Miles Hughes Achievement Award

bunny tails

Photo by Leanne Radojkovich/ from April 2014 issue of Flash Frontier

Very honoured to have been asked to join the committee for the inaugural Miles Hughes Achievement Award. Miles was an intrepid writer and indie publisher whose energy reached out into the community until the very end. He passed away earlier this year, and it’s with a great deal of respect that I join this effort to honour his memory with an award for an Auckland area writer.

I have many fond memories of Miles from working with him on the National Flash Fiction campaign — in which he also placed among the Highly Commended writers in 2013. In April 2014, we dedicated the scattered issue of Flash Frontier to Miles, with his colleague and friend James George as Guest Editor.

I’m happy to see that so many creative endeavours continue to flourish in Miles’ name. And I look forward to working with Patricia Hanifin (who most recently placed second in the National Flash Fiction Day competition) and Leanne Radojkovich (whose work has appeared in many venues in NZ and abroad) — two stalwart members of the Auckland writing scene.

The Auckland branch of the NZ Society of Authors is accepting entries until September 1, and the award will be announced November 9.

Info below, with links to the Facebook page and other information.


 The Miles Hughes Achievement Award is to celebrate Miles_Hughes-Promopassportshotinnovation, involvement and perseverance in the current writing and publishing climate. The late Miles Hughes, NZSA Auckland branch stalwart and Indie author, epitomized these three qualities in his writing and publishing life and they form the basis for judging the award. Entry is open to writers from the Auckland region, boundaries as defined by the NZSA.The prize for the award for 2014 consists of: cash of $500; writing related services towards assessment or marketing to the value of another $500; promotion of the author/performer and their work at the award event in November 2014. The winner and their work will also be promoted on the Miles Hughes Achievement Award Facebook page.OPEN NOW.

CLOSES September 1, 2014

Facebook page               Criteria for Application                     Application Form

Auckland Region– covers Rodney District south, Auckland,  Franklin, Waikato, Hamilton, Otorohanga and Waipa Districts

This entry was posted in My Stuff, Other People's Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s