Tuesday Poem: ‘Poems from PLEASURE TROUT’ by Gloria Mindock

ROT

One day you feel dull
and uncharming
You are lying
Actually you are largely
undeveloped
cooked up out of
fiction
If you could write, you
would be absent on noise

~

WINGED

My disappearance will remain.
I have a new emergency
faked into a new territory.
I’m excited.

My death and stuff was
hair-raising. Attribute this
to instinct.
Let my midwestern face
die and be remembered by
living in a cabin.
A portrait for the authentic
that stilled people.

I’m tired of being demanded.
Don’t you know every day
is a speck the size
of Cleveland.

~

I PITY SO LITTLE

Chances are I’m slender and
love great atoms and marble
men anointed with
a diaphragm that mixes
itself with bronze

This baby is heaven and
this baby is something
you ain’t got

~

COOPERATION

So, let’s sit down and talk.
Bandage our interests carefully in each other–
delicately and calmly… no need
for interrogation–
our bodies are scientific.
Together we can have a gratifying existence.

Language: unforgettable
Eyes: flashing with no trap
Hands: clasping into a crash of
replication
Love me like anybody else would
without caution

I’m a strange woman–
You can see this from my scratched heart.

~

Posted with permission from the author.

*

 

PleasureTrout400x628Author Commentary: The poems in “Pleasure Trout” are all mistranslations taken from poems in languages unknown to me. Sometimes a foreign word would remind me of a word in English. I wrote what I thought the poems were saying knowing that I was wrong in my interpretation. The whole purpose was to write as quickly as I could while looking at the foreign language. I mostly used poems written in Romanian, Serbian, Italian, Spanish and Polish. This is one of my favorite ways to write. I do this all the time, and have been writing mistranslations since the early 1980’s so there are hundreds of them.  Zvi A. Sesling of Muddy River Books loved my manuscript and decided to publish it. I was so excited about this!

Currently, I am putting together another manuscript full of mistranslations. Writing these are so freeing. Whatever comes out, comes out. I don’t have to worry if anyone understands it. Some of the poems are just pure nonsense, some aren’t.

In workshops, I teach writing exercises for getting through writers block. Writing mistranslations is a good exercise to get anyone writing. It has been so much fun teaching and seeing what the students come up with.

Aside from this, it is just a fun thing to do to let loose!

*

I’m pleased to share this poetry with readers this week, as this is one of the most unusual and clever collections I’ve read in a while. It’s worth checking out more of Mindock’s poetry. She’s a woman in love with words, and I admire that very much indeed.

But don’t take just my word for it. You can read reviews of PLEASURE TROUT here

Thank you, Gloria Mindock, for sharing your work this week!


*

GloriaHeadshot200x274Gloria Mindock is editor and publisher of Červená Barva Press. In 2007, she took over as editor of the Istanbul Literary Review, an online journal based in Turkey. In 2010, she co-founded an experimental journal, X Peri, with Irene Koronas.
She is the author of two chapbooks, Doppelganger (S. Press), Oh Angel(U Šoku Štampa) and is the author of three books, Blood Soaked Dresses (Ibbetson St. Press, 2007), Nothing Divine Here (U Šoku Štampa, 2010), and La Portile Raiului (Ars Longa Press, Romania, 2010), translated into the Romanian by Flavia Cosma.
Gloria has been published in numerous journals including River Styx, Phoebe, Poet Lore, Blackbox, Ibbetson St., WHLR, Poesia, Arabesques, and Bogg. In Romania, her poems can be found in UNU: Revistă de Cultură, Gând Românesc, Citadela and the anthologyMurmur of Voices (Cogito Press) with translation by Flavia Cosma. Other anthologies include: Bagel With the Bards No.1 and No. 2WHLR Anthology # 1, and City Lights.
Recently, she was interviewed by Luis R. Calvo and Flavia Cosma in the literary magazine,Generación Abierta (Buenos Aires, Argentina). The interview was translated into Spanish by Flavia Cosma.
Gloria has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, St. Botolph Award and was awarded a fellowship from the Somerville Arts Council. More here.

 

 *

Tuesday Poem is a collective of poets who share poetry on a weekly basis across borders and time zones. At the TP hub this week, you’ll find Bad Housekeeping by Emma Nealeposted by Hub Editor Andrew Bell, plus poems by the various TP collective members.  Look down the left-hand sidebar and click on each one to see their weekly contributions.

Tuesday Poem For more Tuesday Poems, go here.

 

This entry was posted in Other People's Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday Poem: ‘Poems from PLEASURE TROUT’ by Gloria Mindock

  1. ajponder says:

    Cool idea. Especially love the last two lines, “I’m a strange woman–
    You can see this from my scratched heart.”

Leave a Reply

