Writing and editing across time zones and borders

It’s March 1 and there’s a lot happening from this editor’s chair.

letterrr-acceptedStateside, there are early hints of spring, along with new issues of

Blue Five Notebook, featuring flash, poetry and art,

and

APC evolution imageAwkword Paper Cut, featuring video poetry, podcasts, flash and an essay in my monthly column ‘Writers on Writing’ by Romanian/American writer Alex Pruteanu discussing language and translation as he works his way to completing his new novel.

And a new writing contest at Awkword Paper Cut! Looking for 500 words, poetry or prose.

*

Waiting For A RiderIn the late summer days of New Zealand, you can find the latest issue of Flash Frontier: An Adventure in Short Fiction, with new stories and art themed one way. Next issue will be in June, themed scattered, and will feature New Zealand writers; the following June issue is international (open to all) and is themed sugar. Submissions are open for both those issues.

9781907773730frcvr.inddAnd also at Flash Frontier, a feature with flash experts Nuala Ní Chonchúir and Ethel Rohan, who discuss what makes top-notch flash, and an interview with Dan Powell on his new story collection, published by Salt.

Finally, this first issue of 2014 welcomes new editors to the team. Thanks to Elizabeth Welsh and Rachel J Fenton — lucky to have you at Flash Frontier!

*

ps marchAs it’s March 1, I find myself wearing my writer’s hat as well. This year, I’m contributing to the series 2014: A Year of Stories, produced by Adelaide-based Matt Potter and Pure Slush Books. This is a project that features a story a day for a year: 31 writers, each assigned one date each month. My date is the 13th. My set of twelve stories begins in Jan 13, 2014 and continues till December 13. The writing began many months ago, and the first few books of the series are already here. You can read through May already – but the idea is to read a story a day. So today is March 1, which means we are reading ‘Dive’ by Guilie Castillo-Oriard.

And then I’m off to finish writing my September story (which I think is almost late).

More about this project in a separate post, but meanwhile check it out. 2014: A Year of Stories is enormous, ambitious and inspiring. I’m glad to be a part. It’s a new thing for me, writing in serial form, and I love the challenge and the kick.

*

sailing MOMOMeanwhile, my interview at The Review Review is here. Much appreciate for the time Susan Tepper took for this. I love the subtitle: Editors without Borders. Makes me smile to feel how we reach across distances both temporal and spatial and stay connected, even as I sail on…

This entry was posted in My Stuff, Other People's Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing and editing across time zones and borders

  1. racheljfenton says:

    Heaps happening here, Michelle – thank you so much for having me on your team at Flash Frontier – it’s looking all good for March!

  2. Sam Rasnake says:

    You are, without a doubt, one of the hardest working writers/editors on this globe, Michelle. The literary world is stronger because of you.

Leave a Reply

