Tuesday (Thursday) Poem: Haiku by Jana Heise

Haiku for the piwakawaka

Fantail, fly and swoop.

Gotcha! You insect! Eat up,

Eat up, my children.

DSC_7877

*

This was written this morning by my 8-year-old daughter. She has a love of he piwakawaka, like her mother.  Here she is, holding up her artwork:

DSC_7875

*

More Tuesday poems from the terrific and eclectic mix of Tuesday Poets below. Just click on over to the main hub and see what’s happening. Cross-continental poetry fun.

Tuesday Poem For more Tuesday Poems, go here.

This entry was posted in Other People's Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday (Thursday) Poem: Haiku by Jana Heise

  1. kassiedoggie says:

    Dear Michelle,

    I cannot even begin to tell you how moved I was when I read this and saw Jana’s picture! Does she have her own email address so I can write her? You must be so proud. I am not familiar with the piwakawaka but will check it out..!!!

    Paul and I just got back from a 16 day trip to Italy. Exhausted and overweight with too much good food and wine but happy. It was a long time to be away, though and now we are playing catch up. I tell you because we met people from New Zealand who must live near you. They were delightful. Still trying to talk Paul into coming to visit as I really would LOVE to do so…

    Take care,

    Much love, Krista

  2. Lou says:

    Brilliant. Absolutely, brilliant.

  3. susan tepper says:

    This is a wonderful haiku~

Leave a Reply

