Tuesday Poem: ‘How Do You Ask a Word to Come Dancing?’ by Tim Heath

 

How Do You Ask a Word to Come Dancing?

In many many minutes awake
and too often those that should be sleep
I flail around with a frail butterfly net
trying to capture the right word

Words
they sit in front of me like
a class of five year olds who think they know the answer
and wave their hands desperate to be picked

Words
great when first caught but
their colours clash when I put them together

Words
sometimes come and sit next to me on the bus
and I want to pick them up but don’t know how to start the conversation

Words
like chocolates their centres
unknown until you bite into them

Words
crowds of them at the shopping centre all
too busy to look up and catch my eye

Words
I want millions of them
but I don’t want to
to buy them at the Supermarket
two for the price of one and the offer ends today.

I want to find them
in the garage sale the family holds
after the uncle who collected so many damned books has died

I want to mine them
from deep distant hills in forests
too Tolkien for others to enter

I want them to wink
at me as I wander home late at night
along city streets

I want to be given them
at a bazaar by a gypsy girl
in a red ruffled skirt and a white blouse
with the residue of a rose stem and last night’s passion
still on her lips

Words
like other loves I want them all
Words
like other loves I only want the best

*

Tim Heath writes poetry, enjoys some success in the oddity known as Poetry Slams and writes whenever he can grab time from grandchildren, travelling, sailing, growing vegetables and hanging out more washing than he cares to mention.
I’m especially pleased to post this poem today because on Thursday, I’ll be appearing on stage with Tim at the Auckland poetry series called rhythm n verse, hosted by Ila Selwyn. Tim has a wonderful way of presenting his work, and I’m glad to be a part of this series. Other poets appearing April 4 include  Graeme Heap, Hannah Owen-Wright, Heather McPherson and Michael Botour. If you are in Auckland, stop in!

 

 

*

This week the Tuesday Poem celebrates its birthday with a JAZZ poem, being built step-by-step, rhythm-by-rhythm, by eighteen of us. Be sure to check it out as it gathers momentum and takes smooth, cool turns by clicking below. What a wonderful project to be a part of!

Tuesday Poem For more Tuesday Poems, go here.

This entry was posted in Other People's Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Poem: ‘How Do You Ask a Word to Come Dancing?’ by Tim Heath

  1. ajponder says:

    I can hear this poem being slammed – love the class of five year olds and this…
    I want to mine them
    from deep distant hills in forests
    too Tolkien for others to enter
    🙂 nice.

  2. susan tepper says:

    very good poem that grabbed me on many levels.

  3. Abbott Gleason says:

    Very nice, Michelle!

    Brown university Daniiel derondaSent from my iPad

  4. It’s lovely a lot of fun. This is the verse I like,
    ‘I want them to wink
    at me as I wander home late at night
    along city streets’
    Hope you both have fun on Thursday night.:-)

  5. Andrew Bell says:

    Love it. Trying to picture chasing words with a butterfly net and it comes up very leunig-like in my mind.

Leave a Reply

