Locating the Senses in Language/ Place

The following is posted as part of the Language/ Place Blog Carnival. Issue #14 is hosted by Stella Pierides and the theme is “Locating the Senses in Language/ Place”. 

*     *     *

Close your eyes

Close your eyes and you can see it all, she said.

She took my hand in hers: warm, dry, sure. She led my fingers up her arm, around her elbow. My body’s a landscape, she said.

She laid out a map of her life that night. That vein there: a long road down the back of her sun-freckled knee, slightly bumpy since the birth of her child. My fingers skipped up one smooth arm as she told of an easy childhood and laughed at the memories of tree-forts and tea-parties and the time she flew at seven, all alone, to visit her grandma in Tennessee. I navigated a gravel road up the other arm: teen years, cruel and rough, hard to describe but easy to imagine. A scar through the right eyebrow: daddy’s mark. Butterfly kisses on my palm from long lashes she got from her gentle mum. Further down the road, valleys gave way to mountains, and mountains proved worth climbing. I nestled into the pond scent of her belly, mossy and cool.

Close your eyes and you can see it all, she said. And I did.

(Originally published at 52|250.)
This entry was posted in My Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Locating the Senses in Language/ Place

  1. Indigo says:

    Amazing visual! Love the idea of using the body as a history book of experiences. (Hugs)Indigo

  2. K.E. says:

    This story begs multiple reads. Each time, the senses are richer in the mind and imagination. Lovely ~

  3. Thanks for your comment about my website! I also think your story very beautiful..Maria Pierides

  4. alee9 says:

    A deeply engaging journey through the body’s memories. A richly evocative piece. Thanks, Michelle!

  5. Thank you all for coming to this story — KE, Maria, Alee. Appreciate the reads and re-reads.

  6. claireking9 says:

    Gorgeous story, Michelle!

Leave a comment